Now Available: Depeche Mode, MODE

Friday, January 24, 2020
Depeche Mode MODE Box Set

When it comes to alt-rock bands with staying power, there aren’t many that can compete with Depeche Mode, and that’s neither in terms of being prolific nor in terms of being successful. The band managed to break into the mainstream in the ‘80s in a big way, and although they’ve had their share of internal struggles over the years, they’re still together, which is worthy of celebration.

Lo and behold, Rhino has decided to celebrate by releasing MODE, a comprehensive collection of the band's work to date. The numbered, limited-edition set is housed in an elegant and minimalist black cube, with each disc similarly enclosed in a black, heavyweight card wallet. The albums' original covers have been re-interpreted in uniform black-on-black designs exclusive to this box set, and accompanying the audio content is a 228 page, gilt-edged book containing all of Depeche Mode's lyrics, compiled together for the first time.

But how about the music? Well, MODE contains all 14 of Depeche Mode’s original studio albums, but there are also four CDs collecting 63 non-album singles, B-sides and bonus tracks from 1981 to 2017, including the previously unreleased “Heroes” (Highline Session Version).

Here’s the list of those albums, along with the track listings for those other four CDs:

1.    Speak & Spell
2.    A Broken Frame
3.    Construction Time Again
4.    Some Great Reward
5.    Black Celebration
6.    Music For The Masses
7.    Violator
8.    Songs Of Faith And Devotion
9.    Ultra
10.    Exciter
11.    Playing The Angel
12.    Sounds Of The Universe
13.    Delta Machine
14.    Spirit

Disc 15: 1981 – 1985

1.    Photographic (Some Bizarre Version)
2.    Sometimes I Wish I Was Dead (Flexi-Pop Version)
3.    Dreaming Of Me   
4.    Ice Machine
5.    Shout
6.    Any Second Now
7.    Now, This Is Fun
8.    Oberkorn (It's A Small Town)
9.    My Secret Garden (Excerpts From)
10.    My Secret Garden (Further Excerpts From)
11.    Get The Balance Right!
12.    The Great Outdoors!
13.    Work Hard
14.    Fools
15.    In Your Memory
16.    (Set Me Free) Remotivate Me
17.    Shake The Disease
18.    Flexible
19.    It’s Called A Heart
20.    Fly On The Windscreen

Disc 16: 1986 - 1990
1.    Dressed In Black (Record Mirror Version)
2.    But Not Tonight
3.    Breathing In Fumes
4.    Black Day
5.    Christmas Island
6.    Agent Orange
7.    Fpmip
8.    Pleasure, Little Treasure
9.    Route 66
10.    Stjarna
11.    Sonata No. 14 In C#m (Moonlight Sonata)
12.    Dangerous
13.    Memphisto
14.    Sibeling
15.    Kaleid
16.    Happiest Girl (Jack Mix)
17.    Sea Of Sin (Tonal Mix)

Disc 17: 1993 - 2005
1.    My Joy (Seven Inch Mix)
2.    Death’s Door (Soundtrack Version)
3.    Death’s Door (Jazz Mix)
4.    Slowblow
5.    Painkiller
6.    Only When I Lose Myself
7.    Surrender
8.    Headstar
9.    Easy Tiger
10.    Dirt
11.    Zenstation
12.    Free
13.    Newborn
14.    Better Days
15.    Martyr

Disc 18: 2006 - 2017
1.    Oh Well (Single Version)
2.    Oh Well
3.    Light
4.    The Sun And The Moon And The Stars
5.    Ghost
6.    Esque
7.    Long Time Lie
8.    Happens All The Time
9.    Always
10.    All That’s Mine
11.    Heroes (Highline Session Version)